Say What?

 

Postmark Jefferson City, MO

 

April 21, 1930 8:30 PM

 

Monday

 

Dear Jim:
Well-I haven’t very much to say.  I am really not as angry as I might seem, however I felt better after you came by last night.  I was surprised though that you did.

 

I worked hard today and am tired tonight.  I tried to get my art ready and did but it’s a big job.

 

I had a letter from Helen she said Lillian Rogles told her that Henry said he want to be Helen’s next flame.  Now I am sure he didn’t say that, just what he said I can’t say.  Helen said she was sure Lillian got her wires crossed.  Anyway Helen wants to come up this coming weekend, but on account of some parties and all, I am writing to her to come later. She really wants to come the 9th but I think that’s when we can go to Clinton.  I believe from now until school is out I’ll be busy.

 

Jim-the flowers are still pretty.  They were so sweet Sunday morning.  I will forgive you for most anything when you are so thoughtful as to send flowers to me on Easter.  I think you’re real sweet.  

 

Write soon–and when will you be over Saturday afternoon or when?
Love,

 

Mary

 

 

 

Postmark Columbia, MO

 

April 24, 1930 5 PM

 

Thursday

 

Dear Mary-

 

I just finished reading your letter.  I am sure Helen would understand if she wants to come that weekend.  As for going down home is concerned, we can make the trip anytime, or leave it out if you are too busy.  I’ll tell mother not to plan any party for you for about a week and a half yet.  By then we should know for sure.  Then if something happens that you can’t leave she can call it off alright.  Don’t worry yourself about that.

 

I wrote an eight hundred word paper last night.  I wrote it, corrected it and copied it over by midnight.  I didn’t get started until eight thirty.  I hope the thing is satisfactory.  I have to read it at the banquet tomorrow night before all of the Tau Beta Pis and all of the faculty of the Engineering School.  I’ll be glad when that is over.  I have an examination in Heat Machinery at one o’clock and an exam for Tau Beta Pi at four o’clock.  I don’t know how I’ll come out in either one of them, but I don’t really care.

 

Tomorrow classes are dismissed for the funeral of the former President of the University, whatever his name is.  That means I don’t have any classes at all tomorrow.  I think I will put the whole day in on my Graphic Statics.  Maybe I can get caught up on some of it.  I have a Heat report to write tonight and an electrical report to write up before Monday, so  you see, I really have plenty to keep me busy for some time.  I’ll be over there Saturday about 5:45 P.M.  

 

Really Mary I am just about out of something to say, so I guess I’ll have to quit for this time.  You’ll forgive me once more want you?  Please~~~~~~~~~~

 

Love,

 

Jim

 

Henry called me from downtown last night.  He had a date and two couples over here.  He didn’t come out here though.

 

 

Two people without much to say, but their letters say a lot.  Parties and plans and projects and papers.  And tittle-tattle about Henry’s romantic life.  Just exactly what his romantic life is…who can say?

 

 

 

The correspondence leaves out a lot information.  I guess we’re better off not knowing the particulars of what had Mary annoyed with Jim.  Kiss and make up.  The flowers were a nice touch.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1930

Leave a Reply

